Surrogacy Saturday No 4

Hello, beautiful people. Today is Saturday and that means it’s time for our fourth installment of my Surrogacy Series. 

The Magic Match:
We will pick up right where we left off. I was on the phone with Sara and she told me that my IPs didn’t want to work with me anymore. Then she told me she had another couple in mind. She told me how proud of me she was of me for passing my GED test, which I had learned that news only an hour or so before. I remember trying to be happy, but my heart was breaking. The rejection of that first match really did a number on me. But I stayed determined. I got an email from Sara telling me to fill out some new patient forms on a website of a new fertility clinic for Dr. Best. I did as I was told and soon I found out my first appointment with Dr. Best would be at the end of January and I would be meeting my new set of IPs immediately after that appointment. I had gotten their profile and saw that they were a same sex couple, a pair of IFs or intended fathers. We will call one A and one D. I’m giving them “names” because first of all, I can’t call them IF and IF like I could do with IM and IF, and number two, their very important people in my story. So the day came. Nick and I met with Dr. Best. We sat in her office for about 3 hours discussing every single thing that came to mind. Where we worked and the dangers that could possibly pose to the possible pregnancy, any risks in everyday life for a pregnancy, my pregnancy and birth history, medications, support, mentality, everything. And then she did an exam. She gave me a list of things I needed to get done or bring in before my next appointment in order for us to move forward. I remember leaving her office thinking about how sweet she was and knowing that this woman was the doctor that was going to help me help them. We went straight to the TPI office from the appointment and waited for A and D to arrive. We talked and hung out with the staff at TPI. Then, they arrived. We all sat at a big table and the staff of TPI guided us through those awkward first encounters. They asked me questions and I answered. They asked things like, “why do you want to be a surrogate?” And, “what kind of relationship would you like during and after the pregnancy?” I answered all the questions wholeheartedly and hoped they liked them. As I sat and looked at them together and talked to them, I started to feel something in my chest. I wanted to help them. I wanted to help give them a baby so bad. They deserved one. I mean I had two, and whose to say I should have two and them none? By the end of the evening it was official- we were matched. 
That’s where I’ll stop for today. I hope you guys are enjoying this series. I’m enjoying sharing it. I’m anxious to get you guys caught up to where I am currently. That is a long ways away. This point of my journey happened in January of 2015. Anyway, I’ll see you guys tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “Surrogacy Saturday No 4

Leave a comment